The Zodiac and Its Astrological Signs II

Part One: Zodiac and Its Astrological Signs

Leo Zodiac Sign AmuletThe present day names of the Western constellations and signs of the zodiac were first described by the Greek astronomer and astrologer Ptolemy (120-180 AD). The twelve constellations bear Latin names which were the source of the zodiac signs used by astrologists as well.

It is interesting to note that the three main traditions of astrology, the Western, Indian and Chinese, share the same fundamental idea of a twelve sign zodiac with the signs divided into four basic types. It is possible to match up the twelve signs across the traditions, and despite differences, a basic similarity can be seen in their characteristics.

The twelve zodiac names, signs and their corresponding zones along the ecliptic, are: Aries (The Ram: 21 March – 21 April); Taurus (The Bull: 22 April – 22 May); Gemini (The twins: 22 April – 22 May); Cancer (The Crab: 23 June – 22 July); Leo (The Lion: 23 July – 22 August); Virgo (The Virgin: 23 August – 22 September); Libra (The Scale: 23 September – 22 October); Scorpio (The Scorpion: 23 October – 22 November); Sagittarius (The Centaur: 23 November – 21 December); Capricorn (The Goat: 22 December – 20 January); Aquarius (The Pitcher: 21 January – 18 February); Pisces (The Fishes: 19 February – 20 March).

As New Age thinking becomes more popular there is a growing awareness and an individual approach to spiritual exploration referencing the coming astrological Age of Aquarius. Zodiac signs and astrological symbols are used and considered to a certain degree by a substantial percentage of the population, whether in private or publicly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *